2011: 4 Unusual dates!

Dear Chairman of GFrenz forwarded this email to me and I find it very interesting indeed, mathematically!
“This year we will experience 4 unusual dates:
1/1/11,
1/11/11,
11/1/11,
11/11/11.
NOW figure this out …,
take the last 2 digits of the year you were born
plus the age you will be this year
and
it WILL EQUAL 111.”
I tried the calculation and the answer is really “111”!  Amazing!
There are many things that amaze us every day. Tragedies that we do not wish and miracles that surprise us! Yes, they are part and parcel of life. Of course everyone looks forward to good news everyday but we cannot have rainbow and sunshine all the time. There are days when we would encounter rain and lightning too. When those days arrive, we have to be strong enough to face them.
This year begins with a few disappointments and sad news, from the media, friends and relatives. I must admit I am useless in receiving bad news. It always takes me a while to receive and accept such news.
I still remember the night when a stranger called me to inform me that my darling sister met with an accident and that she died on the spot. I did not know whether to believe him or not. I am thankful that dear cousin was there to support me. She reminded me that I had to stay strong for my mother.
I do not normally visit my mother at night. That night I called her to ask if she was at home and that I would be there in half an hour. The moment I requested her to sit down, she said,” It must be some tragic news, right?” Even I would never want to experience what she did….
It took me almost two years before I moved on in life; appreciate and live life at the fullest every day. It is easier said than done but it is achievable. If I have not experienced tragic news of losing my darling sister, my favourite family uncle and my favourite auntie all in one year and in the span of 2 months each, I will not be someone who appreciates time, things and people as much as I do now!
I may be one person who loves life and wants to have fun all the time, but I must still respect what others who may not be able to or want to live life the same way as I. Everyone has different priority in life. Some may want to spend more time in seeking wealth, some may want to spend more time with their loved ones and some may have other love in life that they spend time to do.
What is important to me may not be important to others. What is in my priority may not be so with others. What is preferred by me may not be liked by others. Everyone is different because everyone has different life experiences. Guess one would be happier if one can accept others as they are and respect them for their decision. Everyone knows best what is best for them.
Even though I may be amazed by Mathematical puzzles, I should not be amazed by unpredictable human behaviours; just as I should not be surprised with eruption of natural disasters. Life is never a bed of roses. When one welcomes wonderful rewards of endurance, one must also be able to preserve challenges of life.
I am still learning, I am still learning…
What about you?
Quote of the Day:
Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you,
they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.
2 responses to this post.

  1. At my age I should be prepared for all things but honestly I am not! Life is a lesson and it will only end when it is over.

  2. Yes, UV, only when it is over, it will only be the end….

Have a Happy Day! ;D

