Money, Power and Fame

“Aiyah, you should have called him yesterday!”

My associate was throwing her tantrum over me losing a potential client.
Hey! The introducer did not forward the client’s contact number for me to reach him in the first place. Now that he wants to keep his company secretary and auditors, nothing I can do to stop him, right? Even if I have called him and met him, he could still not engage our services when he decides to keep the existing servicers. What is meant to be is meant to be! Why do you get so worked up with it?
The above experience is common in our everyday life. The following is more surprising! This person I know has been a mistress to one wealthy man for more than 20 years. She lost one house in Bangsar and over half a million ringgit over the 20 years due to her gambling habits while she was the mistress to the man. When the man died of cancer, a few years back, she asked me to drive her to his house where the wake was held.
Thinking that she missed him so much, I tried to console her that it was not advisable for her to do so but she confessed,” I want to confront his wife and fight for his estate. I have been his mistress for more than 20 years and I got nothing from him”
Huh? What are you talking about? Didn’t you tell me that he bought you a house in Bangsar but you lost it to some Ah Long because of your Genting gambling spree? Didn’t you tell me that he had been settling your gambling debts for the years you had been together? Why do you want to hurt his wife and his family by exposing yourself as his mistress at his wake? Sorry, I will not drive you to his house if that is your intention!
Honestly, I wonder why most people find it so important not to miss a chance to have more money; irrespective of whether they really need so much, irrespective of the way to get it and irrespective of whether it is right to have it!
When my sister died in a car accident, someone questioned why I did not take any legal proceeding against the lorry driver or the company he worked for. The person suggested we may be awarded a huge amount of money! What did I tell the person?
I said, “No, I don’t think I want to put my mother through the pain of attending court hearings just to get some money out of my sister’s death! We do not need that kind of money!”
And the person replied,” You are a very generous person.” Hahahaha! He called me generous because I do not wish to take an opportunity to make more money! Can you beat it!
I believe I am a happier person because I do not chase after money, power and fame. After all, we do not need much of them to go through this life journey, right? What is your opinion?

Quote of the Day:
To be clever enough to get all that money, one must be stupid enough to want it.

 

Have a Happy Day! ;D

