My Home, My Castle!

We have the habit of moving our furniture around the house after a long time; just to feel the change. No, there is nothing new, not the furniture, not the curtains or even the paint; just the placing of the sofa or the table. Haha! Just like that could also make us feel contented. Sometimes we would trip over or knock onto them because we forgot we moved them! Haha!
To me, we have to be creative in laying out the interior of our home. The original design may not be the best. We may not have optimized the space or bring out the best of the house design the first time. By moving the furniture around, we may eventually find the best spot for all the pieces of furniture!
Then, some friends would visit and pass comments and remarks about what should be where. “You know, you should place your sofas with the coffee table here. This is the best spot.” Yah, yah, why don’t you go home and play “place your furniture” on your own?
Then another would come, look around and say: “Hey, why don’t you paint this wall yellow and the other wall there red?” Huh? What do you think this place is; a temple or a kindergarten?! I don’t see you painting your walls yellow and red!
“You know, if I were you, I would fix the LED lightings. They are the latest stuff in the market and they are better than the bulb lightings. Your lightings are so old fashion. Also, why don’t you fix more wall fans?”
Haiyoh, I say, why don’t you guys leave me alone! Leave my house alone! Leave me some dignity! After all, this is my nest! I can do it the way I want to do and what I want to do with it. I live here! Have some respect! For your information, I go for what is practical and useful in the long run. Hence, I do not believe in getting the latest and be in trend in my interior design!
You know, I do not go visiting people’s house and start commenting about what should be where or what colour is better. I always pass compliments to people for the effort and pride in having what they are having. Everybody has different taste of designs and colours just like different preference for food!
What is nice or better looking to you may not be so to me, right? So, let’s just respect each other’s taste in each interior design! To me, as long as I feel at ease in the comfort of my own home, it is a blessing. At least I have a place call home!
I do not need praises on how I decorate my home, I do not need kind words on how pretty my ugly cupboard looks and I do not need pretence of your presence in a castle when you are in my humble bubbly beehive. Hehe. Of course, it would be nice to get a compliment or two.
Do you feel the same about your home?

Quote of the Day:
If you want a golden rule that will fit everything, this is it:
Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful
or believe to be beautiful.

 

Have a Happy Day! ;D

