Happy Father’s Day?

Happy Father’s Day? Someone sent me an email to suggest me to link my blog post to his blog. I visited it to check out what he has there. Hey, some pleasant surprise alright. And I like it! A different kind of tie as a gift for your father! Maybe you will find it suitable too!

But Father’s Day does not mean much to me. I lost my pa to cancer when I was 17 years old. I did not get much chance to spend time with him when he was alive. In fact I was “introduced” to him only when I was 12 years old.
My mother ran away from her marriage life, taking me along with her, when I was about 3 years old. I grew up without much of father’s love. Maybe that is the reason why I am independent at a very young age.
My only times spent with my father were when I visited him, with his new family, during year end school holidays. And my memories of him were him being a chain smoker who betted heavily in 4D. He would throw his betting list to the children to match the winning numbers on the result days. The “train length” betting list had more than 50 numbers! No joke!  And whoever matched a number would get an ice cream as treat!
I must admit that he was a charming guy with an attractive smile. He was a ladies magnet, attracting their attention wherever he went! Maybe that was one of the reasons why my mother left him then. And maybe that was also the reason my mother was attracted to him when she was sweet sixteen. They married when she was 17 and she gave birth to me when she was 18!
I must say I did not go through sob phases shown in movies or TV series. Nobody ever questioned me about my father’s whereabouts or jeered me for not having one staying with us. My friends in my growing up stages accepted me for who I am and not who and what I have!
If you were to ask me now if growing up without a father was difficult, I would say I do not know the difference. Maybe it would be. I never thought much of it or felt much of it. I am the type who accepts what lies in front of me. I do not question why or say that I deserve better. I only appreciate what was given to me.
I grew up with many people who cared and loved me. Even without the presence of my mother 24/7, there was always a servant who took care of me. Those days there were no Indonesia or Filipino maids. Our servants were all local Chinese who made a living by being live-in servants to families. And we were blessed with good responsible people who extended love to us as their family members.
(Of course there were interesting stories about some funny characters. I will share them with you later, okay!)
You are more blessed than me if you have a wonderful, loving and caring father today! Appreciate what you have and show him your appreciation. Not everyone is as blessed and as lucky as you are now.
I have never celebrated Father’s Day with my late father before.  However, I would like to wish all fathers who are reading this post, a very Happy Father’s Day!
HAPPY FATHER”S DAY!

Have a Happy Day! ;D

