What are you good at?

Last night my dear cousin was bitten by some singing bugs. She was eager to fix up her karaoke set to sing her lungs out after dinner. She has not been singing for a while and picking up the mike again was tough to my ears. Of course she has to adjust the volume loud enough for the whole neighbourhood to hear!
I was all ready with cotton wool for my ears. But to my surprise, she did not lose it after resting her vocal chords for so long. She was still in tune. In fact, she was dynamic! Encore! Encore! If only I can sing as well as you, dear cousin. Yes, and if only I could cook as well as you too.
The other day an old friend from Ipoh came for an overnight visit. She was expecting home cooked food to be served after noticing all the food pictures that my cousin uploaded in her FaceBook, and she was not disappointed.

My cousin purposely baked a walnut chocolate chip butter cake to welcome her. Dinner was only mushroom soup (of course not from the can; it was fresh mushroom blended) with garlic bread (my cousin’s own recipe of garlic butter) because this old friend of ours had too much food in the day. Later we had cincau lemon lychee for dessert (my cousin’s own recipe). What a yummy night!  She even gave our old friend a piece of her special limited edition fruit cake to take back to Ipoh!  So generous!

Do you know how much it would have cost us if we had that few items in some fancy restaurants? Of course I am money conscious. Remember, I am trying to save more for my retirement. Am still learning to spend while saving and enjoy life while saving. In other words, spend only when necessary and wisely!

Then my dear cousin has to say this; “You only taste the success of my endurance now. You were not here when I was trying out the recipes. Do you know how much ingredients, time and energy I have wasted to get to this “perfection”?”

Yah, yah, I was the guinea pig. http://theliongirl.blogspot.com/2010/03/my-cousins-delights.html Did I complain then? If I did, I am not complaining now. Her cooking skills are just perfect! No, I cannot tell her on her face that she is good. What if she gets bloat headed and slacks in her attention to make the best food for her guests from afar and the ones at home? Hehe.

Aiyah, no need for me to validate her abilities; everyone who has tasted her food has been asking her for secret recipes and short cut cooking formulas. Even those just seeing pictures in her Facebook are asking for them. Just pictures only wor! Don’t be fooled. Sometimes what look nice in pictures may not taste good but sometimes what taste good may not look good!
The best thing to do is to see, smell and taste the food! Even if people say it is good also, you must taste it first before you convey it to the next person what someone else says. One man’s meat is another man’s poison. I may not like the food that you love, right?
I say: Enjoy life with someone else’s talents. I do not need to sing well because I can listen to the good singing. I do not need to know how to cook because I can enjoy good cooking. In other words, let’s focus doing what we do best! And may that focused item be what we enjoy doing too! Me? I think I enjoy making money! Wahahaha!
What are you good at?

Have a Happy Day! ;D