Cancer

Cancer is such a frightening word. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cancer

“Sigh, one more friend is diagnosed with cancer.” “Why is everyone dying from cancer?” “Everyone will die from cancer!”

Too many people we know and love have been diagnosed with cancer or died from cancer. My mother was telling me over lunch that another good friend of hers was diagnosed with cancer. She then took count that my grandfather, my father, my auntie (my late father’s eldest sister), and my cousin brother (my late auntie’s son), all died of cancer. Her best friend and another family close friend have also recently died of cancer.

However, the mother and son episode was a sad one. This cousin brother had been taking my auntie, who had colon cancer, for her treatment in the hospital for months. One day, while waiting for his mother he went for a medical check up himself. His medical report came back that he too had cancer; of the nose.

My cousin brother who had always been a joker in the family even joked with my auntie “Don’t be too sure that you are going off first, just because you had it first! I may go before you. Let’s take a bet!” My auntie won. She passed away in October 2008 and her son passed away in July 2009. She was 69 years old and he was only 40 years old. He left behind a young wife and two teenage children.

With such family history of cancer, I would not be surprised that my turn would come too. Yes, it has crossed my mind that one day; I too could be diagnosed with cancer. In other words, I would not be surprised if it happens. It could be genetic, it could be already squatting in my DNA, it could be waiting for the time to turn active to charge out and attack, it could be doing a countdown; it could be just in “sleeping” mode at the moment.

It is not that I am looking forward to it happening, but I am anticipating that it could happen. It’s just a matter of time. But as usual, we don’t just sit around and wait for some cancer cells to attack. We live life one day at a time. And while living, we enjoy being alive. While being alive, we take charge of ourselves. While taking charge of ourselves, we are kind to our body, mind and soul. And when we do that, things would take its natural course.

Words of wisdoms about cancer:

My cancer scare changed my life. I’m grateful for every new, healthy day I have. It has helped me prioritize my life.- Olivia Newton John

Cancer victims who don’t accept their fate, who don’t learn to live with it, will only destroy what little time they have left. – Ingrid Bergman

Once you choose hope, anything’s possible. – Christopher Reeve

It’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. ~Abraham Lincoln

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things. ~Robert Brault, http://www.robertbrault.com

Health is a large word. It embraces not the body only, but the mind and spirit as well;… and not today’s pain or pleasure alone, but the whole being and outlook of a man. ~James H. West

If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or fight like hell. ~Lance Armstrong

One must not forget that recovery is brought about not by the physician, but by the sick man himself. He heals himself, by his own power, exactly as he walks by means of his own power, or eats, or thinks, breathes or sleeps. – Georg Groddeck, The Book of the It, 1923

Cancer can take away all of my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul. – Jim Valvano

Know, then, whatever cheerful and serene.  Supports the mind supports the body too. ~John Armstrong

Let’s love life everyday and always remember: 
Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.
~Winston Churchill

May everyone be well and happy!

.

Have a Happy Day! ;D

