Are you inspired?

“Let others lead small lives, but not you.
Let others argue over small things, but not you.
Let others cry over small hurts, but not you.
Let others leave their future in someone else’s hand, but not you.”
– Jim Rohn
How come I never thought of it before?
Now I question myself; am I leading a small life? Am I? I should say I may be better than many but I am still worse off than many who are better than me. Yes, just like the wise Chinese said it. Still, is it small life? I say it is so subjective, so individual, and so personal. To some people, I am so fortunate, so capable and so blessed. I feel that I am too. But to some others, they feel that I should have done more, achieve more and possess more. So, what exactly is small life?
“For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson
While I still search for enlightenment of my life, I feel I have guilt to argue over small things in my everyday life. Things which I feel important at the point of argument, I later realise that it was in fact very trivial. It was so trivial that I should not have wasted my time, effort and wits in such argument. The person who argued with me was a fool too, just like me. And we call ourselves educated, matured and wise. What a joke! But then again, sometimes what seems a small thing to one may not be small to another. Again, it is so subjective, so individual and so personal, right?
Whenever two good people argue over principles, they are both right. – MARIE VON EBNER-ESCHENBACH
How about crying over small hurts? To me, hurt means hurt. If you can feel it, it must be hurtful. Whether you cry over it depends on your tolerance of pain, right? If you feel no pain; you are not affected by it and you shed no tears then you are not hurt? So, what is “small” hurt? When we feel pain but shed no tears? Does “crying over small hurt” means one does not have any tolerance of pain? Gosh, I am all confused now!
If you are still being hurt by an event that happened to you at twelve, it is the thought that is hurting you now. – James Hillman
As for the last phrase, I am proud to say that I am sure that do not leave my future in someone’s hand. I believe we are owners of our own life. We make our own decisions and we take actions after the decisions we made. We are accountable for what we do. We therefore hold our future in our own hands. Even if we make no decisions for ourselves and we allow someone else to make decisions for us, we are still the one making that decision not to make decisions! That “future” was also made by us! Don’t blame anyone if you are the one who surrender the control of your own decision making to someone else.
In any moment of decision the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing. – Theodore Roosevelt
So, are inspired by Jim Rohn?
Have a Happy Day! ;D

