Smoke gets in your eyes…

First enjoy the two posts archives from Staronline Citizen’s Blog:
Thursday, February 04, 2010, I beg you smokers! Posted by: aini khalid
and
Friday, February 05, 2010, Smokers vs Non Smokers Posted by: ahvincent
Now, why do I abhor smoking so much? It is because both my grandfather and my father have died of lung cancer due to their smoking habits. I can vividly remember my father who used to smoke at least 3 packets of cigarette a day! He passed away when I was 17 years old.
Regretfully, I did not attend my father’s funeral because the adults decided not to inform me since I was sitting for my SPM exams then. But I can still recall my last visit to the hospital. The once well built masculine man had turned into a skin and bone man looking much older than his age of 39. Yes, he did not even make it to 40 years old.
What is irony about people who are indulged in their habit is they just find the pleasure in doing so, ignoring all facts and truth about what is not healthy about what they are doing. The last few years of my father’s life, his voice turned husky after developing a perpetual cough that no medication was able to cure. Still, he would continue his chain smoking lifestyle, not hindering to any advices given by anybody. He said, “Life is too short! Don’t stop me from doing what I enjoy!”
Maybe it is true that life is short and everyone should enjoy doing what they enjoy doing. It may not be cancer that kills someone; it may be a car accident (my sister died at the age of 37 in a car accident.) or a natural disaster that would terminate the lifespan of a person. But even if there are no certainties about life, I believe we should not go to the extreme to “enjoy” life without taking care of their own well being.
We should be responsible of our lives and the people around us, especially people we love! By only enjoying your life as how you wish is a selfish act. It is true that we should live our life as how we wish to. I have shared that in my posting http://theliongirl.blogspot.com/2009/10/what-would-neighbours-think.html  that I believe that we live for ourselves. But I say, if we love ourselves, we should also take care of ourselves. We should also protect ourselves from getting hurt, harm or sick, right? That is the least we can do for ourselves while we are alive.
Because my father was allowed to do what he enjoyed in his lifetime, I have lost fatherly love at a very young age. Not that I did not turn out fine as an adult, but I believe life would be different if he was around for a little longer. But then again, some things are destined to happen and nothing we could do can stop it. Still, I believe we could try our best to delay the event if not stop it altogether. When there is a will, there is a way.  Or at least if you don’t try, you will never know!
Think you consider stopping smoking today?

Have a Happy Day! ;D

