Because it was ME!

Imagination was given to man to compensate him for what he is not; a sense of humor to console him for what he is.

~Francis Bacon
Hey, I like this quote.
I used to be fat. Most people just said that I was plump. They were such kind souls. And it took me quite a long time to really realise that I was really fat. How did I find out? I walked passed a mirror in front of a shop one day and I was staring at a familiar face. I actually stopped to have a clear look at who the reflection was. It was ME! No wonder she looked familiar. Wow, was she fat!
You may be curious to know how on earth I could be fat without realising it. Well, to be honest, I have a “look slim” mirror in my house. Everyone who comes to my place just loves the mirror because they look pretty slim in it.  Me too.
The era of smaller cutting clothes started just then too. Yes, that was another reason. I just complained about the cutting but never about my size. So I just keep buying bigger size clothes to look good in them.  From M to the XXLs!
My hobby then was to find someone bigger size than me. When I find one walking in front of me, I would quickly catch up and walk beside him or her. Hey, it made me feel good and it still does.
I just imagine myself slim when I was not…. that’s what the quote says, “Imagination was given to man to compensate him for what he is not”.
During that time, my good friends would remind me every now and then that I was growing bigger and bigger. One nicknamed me “Ah Fei” while another nicknamed me “Fei Fei”. Both simply mean “FAT”!
But I just love the name. Even after I managed to lose 12 kilos, they still call me by the nicknames. They say once a “Fei” will always be a “Fei”. Thank you very much; I think I am gaining back my weight now!
Of course they would always make fun of me, of my frequent hunger pangs and my love for food. But I didn’t mind because I know they just love me for what I am. And of course it’s because I have a good sense of humour too…. that’s what the quote says, “a sense of humour to console him for what he is”.
See, I love the quote because it was ME!
Have a Happy Day! ;D

